Photography by Jeremy Freedman

Leave a comment

July 1, 2013 by The Citron Review

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am not interested in making photographs as much as I am in making pictures. Sometimes photographs have too much “reality” for my taste. And of course it’s not really reality, but only a kind of photographic reality, one that may constrict experience and not open the eye or the mind. I’m interested in a different kind of focus, one that lets the mind wander inward a little bit, in pursuit of the ambiguity of life and the slipperiness of truth. My various techniques are ways of isolating and concentrating the experience of seeing. And for me, my pictures are as abstract as words, a chance meeting of my memories and the present moment.
–Jeremy Freedman

 

Jeremy Freedman is an artist and writer in New York City. His photographs have been exhibited in Europe and the United States and were recently featured in the Monarch Review and Urbanautica. His poems have been published or are forthcoming in Eclectica, Otoliths, The Wilderness House Literary Review, Danse Macabre, Clockwise Cat and elsewhere. His work is on the web at jfreenyc.com.

Leave a comment

Frozen Oranges and Frozen Orange treats